RSS Feed

‘Reviews’ Category

  1. Le Provencal Bistro

    October 7, 2012 by admin

    Date:  October 6th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Le Provencal Bistro

    Location:  436 Mamaroneck Avenue  Mamaroneck, NY 10543

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no cherry

    Price:  $10.75

    Comments:  My third time at Le Provencal Bistro, but first time not choosing to select one of their many wines by the glass.  The cocktail was perfect, made with lemon, light ice, nice bitters, well-mixed, and balanced alcohol and sweetness.  Well-priced and paired perfectly with the menu.  Only complaint, it can be tough to find a place to park.


  2. Plates Restaurant

    October 7, 2012 by admin

    Date:  September 29th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Plates Restaurant

    Location:  121 Myrtle Boulevard  Larchmont, NY 10538

    Rating: 

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no cherry

    Price:  $10

    Comments:  The waiter returned from the bar with the cocktail which looked perfect.  But, the top was all alcohol and ice, no taste of fruit or bitters.  I was disappointed, but later as I reached the bottom of the glass I found all the fruit, bitters, and sweetness.  So, either the glass had been sitting or  it was never mixed.  However, I blame myself for not self mixing it further.  No rating here as it may have been just fine if it had been mixed properly.  Wonderful food, well priced, happy to return and try another.


  3. Harper’s Restaurant & Bar

    September 11, 2012 by admin

    Date:  September 8th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Harper’s Restaurant & Bar

    Location:  92 Main Street  Dobbs Ferry, NY 10522

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark or recommended Bourbon

    Price:  $12

    Comments:  Waitress recommended another type Bourbon, they were out, so she substituted it with Woodford Reserve.  No fruit other that the orange twist, light bitters, and a good amount of ice.  A proper sized glass, but in the end more like a bourbon on the rocks with a twist.  Ordered a Sazerac with Old Overholt next, perfectly executed and erased the memory of the Old Fashioned.  Good price, great food and service.


  4. Park Avenue Tavern

    July 23, 2012 by admin

    Date:  July 17th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Park Avenue Tavern

    Location:  99 Park Avenue  New York, NY 10016

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price: 

    Comments:  A good balance of bourbon, bitters, and muddled orange.  But too much ice eventually watered down the drink.


  5. Living Room Bar and Terrace

    June 30, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 27th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Living Room Bar and Terrace at the W Hotel Downtown

    Location:  123 Washington Street  New York, 10006

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $15

    Comments:  A strong pour of bourbon on the rocks would have yielded similar results, but this place has quite a view inside and out.


  6. The Beehive Restaurant

    June 30, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 21st, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Beehive Restaurant

    Location:  30 Old Route 22  Armonk, NY 10504

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $10

    Comments:  The first bartender left after I placed the order, not sure if there was some confusion or the end of a shift.  I placed the order again with the second bartender.  He told me its not an Old Fashioned if it doesn’t have a cherry.  His interpretation was shaken, mostly ice, and served with a straw.  This is a perfect example of why this drink can’t be ordered just anywhere.  The bartender was competent and I am sure well-trained.  But, I bet he has never actually tasted this drink.  It stands in sharp contrast to Gramercy Tavern, Mas Farmhouse, or Little Branch where you taste something special.  Best to stick to beers here.


  7. The Capital Grille

    June 6, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 5th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Capital Grille

    Location:  120 Broadway, New York, NY 10271

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, asked if they had brandied cherries

    Price:  $11.75

    Comments:  I took an extra step to ask if they had brandied cherries instead of saying no cherry.  It paid off as they had brandied cherries and the bartender gave me a couple to sample.  Good sized glass, strong pour, and well-muddled with orange and cherry.  Well priced and great service before the dinner crowd.


  8. Little Branch

    May 31, 2012 by admin

    Date:  May 27th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Little Branch

    Location:  22 7th Ave S (between Carmine St & Leroy St) New York, NY 10014

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned (bartender’s choice)

    Price:  $13

    Comments:  The benchmark Speakeasy in NYC — large pour, extra large ice cube, lemon rind, no cherry, no muddled fruit, and a hint of absinthe .  Smooth and delicious.


  9. Mas (farmhouse)

    May 31, 2012 by admin

    Date:  May 27th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Mas (farmhouse)

    Location:  39 Downing St, New York, NY 10014

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Vanilla Old Fashioned (off the drink menu)

    Price:  $12

    Comments:  This establishment, similar to the Gramercy Tavern, is the perfect drinking experience.  I started with a traditional Sazerac with Old Overholt.  The bartender took his time to expertly prepare this multi-step cocktail as you would for a friend.  Later, I ordered the Old Fashioned.  Large glass, lots of ice, with no fruit — instead he used ground vanilla bean which can be seen in the photo.  While not my favorite mix, I appreciated the experimentation.  We chatted about technique and Banana Jamesons.  Cocktails were well priced and the food was excellent.


  10. Bobby Van’s Steakhouse

    April 22, 2012 by admin

    Date:  April 19th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Bobby Van’s Steakhouse

    Location:  25 Broad Street, New York, NY 10004

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price: 

    Comments:  Small glass, very heavy on the bourbon, and well-muddled