RSS Feed

Posts Tagged ‘Makers Mark’

  1. Le Provencal Bistro

    October 7, 2012 by admin

    Date:  October 6th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Le Provencal Bistro

    Location:  436 Mamaroneck Avenue  Mamaroneck, NY 10543

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no cherry

    Price:  $10.75

    Comments:  My third time at Le Provencal Bistro, but first time not choosing to select one of their many wines by the glass.  The cocktail was perfect, made with lemon, light ice, nice bitters, well-mixed, and balanced alcohol and sweetness.  Well-priced and paired perfectly with the menu.  Only complaint, it can be tough to find a place to park.


  2. Plates Restaurant

    October 7, 2012 by admin

    Date:  September 29th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Plates Restaurant

    Location:  121 Myrtle Boulevard  Larchmont, NY 10538

    Rating: 

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no cherry

    Price:  $10

    Comments:  The waiter returned from the bar with the cocktail which looked perfect.  But, the top was all alcohol and ice, no taste of fruit or bitters.  I was disappointed, but later as I reached the bottom of the glass I found all the fruit, bitters, and sweetness.  So, either the glass had been sitting or  it was never mixed.  However, I blame myself for not self mixing it further.  No rating here as it may have been just fine if it had been mixed properly.  Wonderful food, well priced, happy to return and try another.


  3. Park Avenue Tavern

    July 23, 2012 by admin

    Date:  July 17th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Park Avenue Tavern

    Location:  99 Park Avenue  New York, NY 10016

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price: 

    Comments:  A good balance of bourbon, bitters, and muddled orange.  But too much ice eventually watered down the drink.


  4. Living Room Bar and Terrace

    June 30, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 27th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Living Room Bar and Terrace at the W Hotel Downtown

    Location:  123 Washington Street  New York, 10006

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $15

    Comments:  A strong pour of bourbon on the rocks would have yielded similar results, but this place has quite a view inside and out.


  5. The Beehive Restaurant

    June 30, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 21st, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Beehive Restaurant

    Location:  30 Old Route 22  Armonk, NY 10504

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $10

    Comments:  The first bartender left after I placed the order, not sure if there was some confusion or the end of a shift.  I placed the order again with the second bartender.  He told me its not an Old Fashioned if it doesn’t have a cherry.  His interpretation was shaken, mostly ice, and served with a straw.  This is a perfect example of why this drink can’t be ordered just anywhere.  The bartender was competent and I am sure well-trained.  But, I bet he has never actually tasted this drink.  It stands in sharp contrast to Gramercy Tavern, Mas Farmhouse, or Little Branch where you taste something special.  Best to stick to beers here.


  6. The Capital Grille

    June 6, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 5th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Capital Grille

    Location:  120 Broadway, New York, NY 10271

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, asked if they had brandied cherries

    Price:  $11.75

    Comments:  I took an extra step to ask if they had brandied cherries instead of saying no cherry.  It paid off as they had brandied cherries and the bartender gave me a couple to sample.  Good sized glass, strong pour, and well-muddled with orange and cherry.  Well priced and great service before the dinner crowd.


  7. Bobby Van’s Steakhouse

    April 22, 2012 by admin

    Date:  April 19th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Bobby Van’s Steakhouse

    Location:  25 Broad Street, New York, NY 10004

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price: 

    Comments:  Small glass, very heavy on the bourbon, and well-muddled


  8. entre nous

    April 22, 2012 by admin

    Date:  April 15th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  entre nous

    Location:  123 US Highway 1 North Palm Beach FL 33408

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $11

    Comments:  Served in a giant brandy glass with lots of  ice and no bitters.  Two large fresh orange slices, but not muddled.  Good food, but switched to a nice red wine for the meal.


  9. Park Avenue (Spring)

    March 29, 2012 by admin

    Date:  March 27th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Park Avenue Spring

    Location:  100 East 63rd Street  New York, NY 10065

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $13.50

    Comments:  Well-made cocktail in a large glass, muddled orange, noticeable bitters, light sweetness, stirred not shaken, and just enough ice to keep it cold


  10. Le Jardin du Roi

    March 26, 2012 by admin

    Date:  March 24th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Le Jardin du Roi

    Location:  95 King Street, Chappaqua, NY

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $12

    Comments:  Small glass and heavy on the bourbon, waited for the sugar on the bottom to dissolve, orange and bitters slightly off — great food and wine, but will have try another Old Fashioned