RSS Feed

Posts Tagged ‘Well-priced’

  1. Le Provencal Bistro

    October 7, 2012 by admin

    Date:  October 6th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Le Provencal Bistro

    Location:  436 Mamaroneck Avenue  Mamaroneck, NY 10543

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no cherry

    Price:  $10.75

    Comments:  My third time at Le Provencal Bistro, but first time not choosing to select one of their many wines by the glass.  The cocktail was perfect, made with lemon, light ice, nice bitters, well-mixed, and balanced alcohol and sweetness.  Well-priced and paired perfectly with the menu.  Only complaint, it can be tough to find a place to park.


  2. Plates Restaurant

    October 7, 2012 by admin

    Date:  September 29th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Plates Restaurant

    Location:  121 Myrtle Boulevard  Larchmont, NY 10538

    Rating: 

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no cherry

    Price:  $10

    Comments:  The waiter returned from the bar with the cocktail which looked perfect.  But, the top was all alcohol and ice, no taste of fruit or bitters.  I was disappointed, but later as I reached the bottom of the glass I found all the fruit, bitters, and sweetness.  So, either the glass had been sitting or  it was never mixed.  However, I blame myself for not self mixing it further.  No rating here as it may have been just fine if it had been mixed properly.  Wonderful food, well priced, happy to return and try another.


  3. The Beehive Restaurant

    June 30, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 21st, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Beehive Restaurant

    Location:  30 Old Route 22  Armonk, NY 10504

    Rating:  Drinkable

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $10

    Comments:  The first bartender left after I placed the order, not sure if there was some confusion or the end of a shift.  I placed the order again with the second bartender.  He told me its not an Old Fashioned if it doesn’t have a cherry.  His interpretation was shaken, mostly ice, and served with a straw.  This is a perfect example of why this drink can’t be ordered just anywhere.  The bartender was competent and I am sure well-trained.  But, I bet he has never actually tasted this drink.  It stands in sharp contrast to Gramercy Tavern, Mas Farmhouse, or Little Branch where you taste something special.  Best to stick to beers here.


  4. The Capital Grille

    June 6, 2012 by admin

    Date:  June 5th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  The Capital Grille

    Location:  120 Broadway, New York, NY 10271

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, asked if they had brandied cherries

    Price:  $11.75

    Comments:  I took an extra step to ask if they had brandied cherries instead of saying no cherry.  It paid off as they had brandied cherries and the bartender gave me a couple to sample.  Good sized glass, strong pour, and well-muddled with orange and cherry.  Well priced and great service before the dinner crowd.


  5. Sweet Grass Grill

    March 12, 2012 by admin

    Date:  March 10th, 2012

    Name of Establishment:  Sweet Grass Grill

    Location:  24 Main St  Tarrytown, NY 10591

    Rating:  Perfect

    Order:  Old Fashioned, Makers Mark, no maraschino cherry

    Price:  $9

    Comments:  A shaken large glass with just the right amount of ice balanced the citrus, bitters, and bourbon.  A muddled fresh orange slice with an additional two slices appeared to be overkill, but made sense — one rind at the bottom, one discarded after it was used for the rim, and one floating at the top.  At $9, well-priced too.